Word of welcome
Not only is our cathedral the largest Gothic church in the Low Countries, it also tells a story of glory and prosperity – and even more so one of sorrow and disaster. This is the story of people who built dreams, people who expressed their allegiance to God and their fellow men. For over a thousand years, Mary has been the patroness of this Cathedral and of the city of Antwerp; each year thousands of people come and express their love and sorrow to Mary. This church is much more than just a museum filled with valuable treasures, it is still an active place of worship.

Time and again, we feel the need to have this story being told. However, we cannot do this alone. The Province of Antwerp and the Flemish Region both donate substantial amounts of money for the restoration of the Cathedral. Yet, daily maintenance of the Cathedral alone costs 1.5 million Euros each year: this makes your entry fee indispensable. We would like to continue welcoming our average of 320,000 visitors each year under the best conditions possible and let them enjoy the beauty of this building – this is a place where light and stones all tell a story.

Father Louis Van Lommel

Exhibition „REUNION. From Quinten Metsijs to Peter Paul Rubens. Masterpieces from the Royal Museum reunited in the Cathedral“ will be extended until the completion of the renovation of the Royal Museums of Fine Arts Antwerp (KMSKA).

Easter at the Cathedral: the Antwerp Cathedral Concert Association will hold its second annual concert series in the course of the coming Holy Week. It is being organized in cooperation with the Cathedral Choir Foundation “Chorael Huys” and the management staff of Antwerp Cathedral. This top class musical event holds great promise in that it will relate to some very touching aspects of the liturgy pertaining to Holy Week.

Discours de bienvenue
La cathédrale est non seulement la plus grande église gothique des Pays-Bas du Nord et du Sud, elle est également l’histoire faite pierre, tant de gloire et de prospérité que de détresse et de désastre. Elle témoigne de l’histoire d’êtres humains qui ont donné forme à leur rêve et exprimé leur union à Dieu et aux hommes, leurs frères. Il y a plus de mille ans que Marie est la patronne de la cathédrale et de la ville d’Anvers, des milliers de personnes viennent ici confier à Notre-Dame leurs joies et leurs peines. Cette église est donc plus qu’un musée rempli de trésors inestimables, elle est restée un lieu de culte bien vivant.

Nous sentons combien il est important de témoigner de cette histoire et de lui donner vie de jour en jour. A nous seuls nous n’y suffirons pas. La province d’Anvers et la Région flamande contribuent de manière fondamentale aux travaux de restauration de cette cathédrale. L’entretien journalier de la cathédrale s’élève à 1,5 millions d’euros par an : votre droit d’entrée est donc indispensable. Nous désirons pouvoir accueillir les 320.000 visiteurs annuels dans les meilleures conditions, afin qu’ils puissent jouir des splendeurs de cette maison, ce lieu où la lumière et les pierres interprètent leur message chargé d’histoire.

Louis Van Lommel, curé.

L’exposition REUNIE de Quintin Metsys à Pierre Paul Rubens, les chefs-d’œuvre du Musée royal réunis dans la cathédrale sera prolongée pour la durée des travaux de rénovation au Musée royal.

Pâques à la Cathédrale: l'asbl des Concerts de la Cathédrale d'Anvers (Antwerpse Kathedraalconcerten vzw) organise cette année la deuxième édition de son cycle de concerts de la semaine sainte en collaboration avec la Cathédrale Notre-Dame et l'asbl Choraelhuys. La semaine sainte sera ainsi un véritable temps fort marqué non seulement par des célébrations liturgiques solennelles, mais également par des concerts de haut niveau.